{Disarmed} Re: [Leaplist] Yahoo makes hay about my mail server

Tony Lay tonylay at gmail.com
Tue Oct 7 21:00:52 EDT 2008


When I ping mail.mboxmaninsurance.com I get 69.68.142.250.  Is that true?

On Tue, Oct 7, 2008 at 8:26 PM, Jason Boxman <jasonb at edseek.com> wrote:

> Can anyone confirm I've configured this correctly?
>
> > 2. The results of a DNS & RDNS query for the mail server with delivery
> > issues showing that you are resolving IP and domain name correctly.
> > Your mail server IP reverse DNS should reflect your domain in the name.
> >
> > Please review the following link for assistance in correct configuration
> > of SMTP and DNS:
> >
> >    http://www.saas.nsw.edu.au/solutions/dns.html
> >
> > The server should have a fully qualified hostname (FQDN).  The hostname
> > should resolve to an A record. (DNS) The IP address should resolve to
> > the server domain name.(RDNS)  The MX record for the domain for which
> > you wish to receive mail should point to the domain name of your
> > dedicated mail server.  There should be a PTR record for the IP address
> > of your server.
>
> The From: is jason at mboxmaninsurance.com.  (Message takes the same path as
> jasonb at edseek.com in this message's headers, actually.)
>
> The mail server, web.gohideaway.com, is: 208.75.86.204
>
> (It's the mail server because I'm cheap.)
>
> It gives a EHLO of web.gohideaway.com
>
> But my understanding is that ought to be okay, as long as SPF is properly
> configured to allow for it, which it is:
>
> mboxmaninsurance.com.   3600    IN      TXT     "v=spf1 mx ~all"
>
> web:~# host 208.75.86.204
> Name: web.gohideaway.com
> Address: 208.75.86.204
>
> Reverse DNS works.
>
> web:~# dig mboxmaninsurance.com mx
>
> ; <<>> DiG 9.3.4-P1.1 <<>> mboxmaninsurance.com mx
> ;; global options:  printcmd
> ;; Got answer:
> ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 26683
> ;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 5, ADDITIONAL: 5
>
> ;; QUESTION SECTION:
> ;mboxmaninsurance.com.          IN      MX
>
> ;; ANSWER SECTION:
> mboxmaninsurance.com.   86400   IN      MX      10 mail.gohideaway.com.
>
> ;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
> mboxmaninsurance.com.   259116  IN      NS      ns2.everydns.net.
> mboxmaninsurance.com.   259116  IN      NS      ns3.everydns.net.
> mboxmaninsurance.com.   259116  IN      NS      ns4.everydns.net.
> mboxmaninsurance.com.   259116  IN      NS      ns.mboxmaninsurance.com.
> mboxmaninsurance.com.   259116  IN      NS      ns1.everydns.net.
>
> ;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
> ns.mboxmaninsurance.com. 259116 IN      A       208.75.86.204
> ns1.everydns.net.       29230   IN      A       208.76.56.56
> ns2.everydns.net.       118675  IN      A       204.152.184.150
> ns3.everydns.net.       716     IN      A       89.188.0.57
> ns4.everydns.net.       183     IN      A       208.96.6.134
>
> ;; Query time: 16 msec
> ;; SERVER: 208.75.87.250#53(208.75.87.250)<http://208.75.87.250#53%28208.75.87.250%29>
> ;; WHEN: Tue Oct  7 20:16:58 2008
> ;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 251
>
> Oops, ns.mboxmaninsurance.com. is supposed to be stealth.  Didn't quite
> figure
> that part out with tinydns yet.
>
> What's more, I configured DKIM, too, which is verified working.  (Or see
> this
> message's header.)
>
> dkim._domainkey.mboxmaninsurance.com. 86400 IN TXT "k=rsa\;
> p=MIGfMA0GCSqGSIb3DQEBAQUAA4GNADCBiQKBgQDhu1Uc/QWbuT
> NmVYtdCv2L50mnx6Pbi1t0G6CgYDnLDVw7yegrHi+UkbqHFtqrwSrPS
> 47n5hpTSiZEbLiEK7vh4TJq7Hj9V0mfkCGfwTosep6Y9GKYM9KZqgDjkc
> YoKg9MvKNrIXBYEn5MHWhJZpOWZk/B0fOjmgmAxco3QJ2zDQIDAQAB"
> (obviously not broken up with CR in DNS itself.)
>
> So, what now?
>
> Do I need to buy another IP so my EHLO is the same as the From: and the
> rDNS
> of the origination IP of the SMTP session?  Or wtf?
>
> Really, I despise Yahoo.
>
> As a laugh, they sent me this ancient, non-Yahoo document on configuring my
> DNS:
>
> http://www.saas.nsw.edu.au/solutions/dns.html
>
> A lot of the links, like the one for dnsstuff.com which is now commerical,
> haven't even been updated.  Lovely choice, Yahoo.
>
> (intodns.com ftw, btw.)
>
>
> --
> This message has been scanned for viruses and
> dangerous content by MailScanner, and is
> believed to be clean.
>
> _______________________________________________
> Leaplist mailing list
> Leaplist at leap-cf.org
> http://lists.leap-cf.org/mailman/listinfo/leaplist
>

-- 
This message has been scanned for viruses and
dangerous content by MailScanner, and is
believed to be clean.

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: http://lists.leap-cf.org/pipermail/leaplist/attachments/20081007/b1c76673/attachment-0001.html


More information about the Leaplist mailing list