[Leaplist] Dell + Linux pre-installed requested at 2 - 1 over other options

Jim Hartley xjimh at cfl.rr.com
Mon Feb 19 23:11:46 EST 2007


OK, it seems to have let me change the password and logged me in - the 
site acts legit - but I still can't help wonder about "crispynews". 
Apparently you can register, but it ain't easy. They probably created 
the site with M$FrontPage.

Jim Hartley

Jim Hartley wrote:
> Further update: at one point I tried the "reset password" link and got 
> the following email:
>
> Hello!
>
> As requested, you can create or change your account password by 
> clicking on this link 
> http://dell.crispynews.com/user/change_password?XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
> If you did not initiate this e-mail contact CrispyNews staff 
> immediately by replying to this e-mail.
>
> Thanks,
>
> CrispyNews Team
>
> In case it **IS** legit I XXXXX'd out part of the link. It was sent 
> from "admin at crispynews.com". Now I'm going to try the link to see what 
> happens.
>
> Jim Hartley
>
>
>
>
> ray wrote:
>> Phil Barnett wrote:
>>> On Monday 19 February 2007 19:17, Ray Brunkow wrote:
>>>  
>>>> http://www.dellideastorm.com/
>>>>
>>>> Very interesting.  I was unable to create an account with dell via 
>>>> this
>>>> page from my iMAC.  I tried both safari and FF 2.0 with no luv.  Still
>>>> the numbers are impressive, will be interesting to see if this is real
>>>> or just a hoax.
>>>>     
>>>
>>> Looks like it's a real Dell web site. Look at it's name servers:
>>>
>>>    Domain Name: DELLIDEASTORM.COM
>>>    Registrar: EMARKMONITOR INC. DBA MARKMONITOR
>>>    Whois Server: whois.markmonitor.com
>>>    Referral URL: http://www.markmonitor.com
>>>    Name Server: NS1.US.DELL.COM
>>>    Name Server: NS2.US.DELL.COM
>>>    Name Server: NS3.US.DELL.COM
>>>    Name Server: NS4.US.DELL.COM
>>>    Name Server: NS5.US.DELL.COM
>>>    Status: clientDeleteProhibited
>>>    Status: clientTransferProhibited
>>>    Status: clientUpdateProhibited
>>>    Updated Date: 29-jan-2007
>>>    Creation Date: 29-jan-2007
>>>    Expiration Date: 29-jan-2008
>>>
>>>
>>>   
>> anyone able to register on that site?  i still can not figure out 
>> how.  i know im blond but hey.
>>
>> -- 
>> Raymond L. Brunkow
>> 5th Degree Black Belt
>> Chief Instructor & Owner
>> Sun State Martial Arts
>> 407-786-2525
>> http://www.SunStateMartialArts.us
>>   
>> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
>>
>> _______________________________________________
>> Leaplist mailing list
>> Leaplist at leap-cf.org
>> http://lists.leap-cf.org/mailman/listinfo/leaplist
>>   
> _______________________________________________
> Leaplist mailing list
> Leaplist at leap-cf.org
> http://lists.leap-cf.org/mailman/listinfo/leaplist
>


More information about the Leaplist mailing list