[Leaplist] someone is trying to block FireFox

Hank Lambert hank at hanklambert.com
Fri Aug 17 21:06:03 EDT 2007


Let me see if I am getting this right; by choosing to decide what is loaded
on my computer, I am committing theft. By refusing sometimes obnoxious and
potentially dangerous ads from my browser, I am committing theft. And by
allowing these people to shove these ads down my throat, risking viruses,
Trojan horses, identity theft, and data loss, I am not committing theft. Am
I missing something here?

Hank Lambert
KB4MTO
Certified Geek

-----Original Message-----
From: leaplist-bounces at leap-cf.org [mailto:leaplist-bounces at leap-cf.org] On
Behalf Of Ray Brunkow
Sent: Friday, August 17, 2007 6:16 PM
To: LEAP is Linux Enthusiasts and Professionals, a Linux User Group.
Subject: [Leaplist] someone is trying to block FireFox

http://whyfirefoxisblocked.com/

------------------------------------
You've reached this page because the site you were trying to visit now 
blocks the FireFox browser.

The Mozilla Foundation and its Commercial arm, the Mozilla Corporation, 
has allowed and endorsed Ad Block Plus, a plug-in that blocks 
advertisement on web sites and also prevents site owners from blocking 
people using it. Software that blocks all advertisement is an 
infringement of the rights of web site owners and developers. Numerous 
web sites exist in order to provide quality content in exchange for 
displaying ads. Accessing the content while blocking the ads, therefore 
would be no less than stealing. Millions of hard working people are 
being robbed of their time and effort by this type of software. Many 
site owners therefore install scripts that prevent people using ad 
blocking software from accessing their site. That is their right as the 
site owner to insist that the use of their resources accompanies the 
presence of the ads.

While blanket ad blocking in general is still theft, the real problem is 
Ad Block Plus's unwillingness to allow individual site owners the 
freedom to block people using their plug-in. Blocking FireFox is the 
only alternative. Demographics have shown that not only are FireFox 
users a somewhat small percentage of the internet, they actually are 
even smaller in terms of online spending, therefore blocking FireFox 
seems to have only minimal financial drawbacks, whereas ending resource 
theft has tremendous financial rewards for honest, hard-working website 
owners and developers..

Since the makers of Ad Block Plus as well as the filter subscriptions 
that accompany it refuse to allow website owners control over their own 
intellectual property, and since FireFox actively endorses Ad Block 
Plus, the sites linking to this page are now blocking FireFox until the 
resource theft is stopped.

Netscape users can simply set their browser to IE mode to continue to 
enjoy the site that sent you here. FireFox users can use Internet 
Explorer, Opera or Netscape (in IE mode) to access it. FireFox users 
also have the option of using the IE Tab plug-in which uses the IE 
rendering engine to display pages, but also disables the Ad Block Plus 
plug-in.

If you are offended by the Mozilla Corporation's endorsement of 
dishonesty please contact the Mozilla Foundation and ask them to stop 
empowering internet theft.
-----------------------------------

posted that in case the server goes down as i expect it to.  in fact i 
just got off of the phone with Danny Carlton and he had to rush as his 
server had crashed.  His contact information is:

Registrant:
   Danny Carlton
   19724 East Pine #149
   Catoosa, Oklahoma 74015
   United States

   Registered through: GoDaddy.com, Inc. (http://www.godaddy.com)
   Domain Name: DANNYCARLTON.NET
      Created on: 07-Sep-01
      Expires on: 07-Sep-08
      Last Updated on: 13-Jun-07

   Administrative Contact:
      Carlton, Danny  godaddy0616 at dannycarlton.net
      19724 East Pine #149
      Catoosa, Oklahoma 74015
      United States
      9186974039      Fax --

   Technical Contact:
      Carlton, Danny  godaddy0616 at dannycarlton.net
      19724 East Pine #149
      Catoosa, Oklahoma 74015
      United States
      9186974039      Fax --

   Domain servers in listed order:
      NS3.ZONEEDIT.COM
      NS5.ZONEEDIT.COM


well that is the information from whois.

All I said to him on the phone was that without FireFox and extensions 
like AdBlock Plus customers are susceptible to attacks from the 
mal/spy/adware that many adservers install on customers computers 
without permissions.  At that point he commented something about people 
not reading the full page, and yes I have a few times, and ran off due 
to his server crashing.  I wished him luck and to reconsider his actions.

More contact from the community might be a good thing.

-- 

Raymond L. Brunkow
5th Degree Black Belt
Chief Instructor and Owner
Sun State Martial Arts LLC.
407-786-2525 & 407-699-5522
http://www.SunStateMartialArts.com
http://www.ssma.us

_______________________________________________
Leaplist mailing list
Leaplist at leap-cf.org
http://lists.leap-cf.org/mailman/listinfo/leaplist



More information about the Leaplist mailing list